signaturesuper.blogg.se

Uninstalling visual studio for mac
Uninstalling visual studio for mac




uninstalling visual studio for mac
  1. #Uninstalling visual studio for mac for mac
  2. #Uninstalling visual studio for mac install
  3. #Uninstalling visual studio for mac upgrade
  4. #Uninstalling visual studio for mac software
  5. #Uninstalling visual studio for mac mac

Should have had that same person do the math to figure out how many more computers could have been bought with the time you wasted waiting for your 1 machine to boot during those many months.

uninstalling visual studio for mac

It only took them 8 months to get that new laptop. I dealt with it until someone in HR heard that I was being paid about 10 hours a week just to stare at my laptop instead of doing real work, and that 10 hours a week would've paid for a new laptop in 2 weeks.

uninstalling visual studio for mac

It took about 40 minutes to boot every morning, and cost me about an hour every day to connect to the VPN. I had gotten a refurbished 2006-ish laptop as a replacement for my toughbook when the SSD in it gave out.

uninstalling visual studio for mac

PS Before someone else says it, yes that place was being bean counted to death. The fact that it would let me deliver about 4 more hours of actual work/year for the customer wouldn't generate any more overhead to find the IT budget because I'd be billing 40 hours/week in either case.

#Uninstalling visual studio for mac upgrade

Even if an SSD only only let me start working 5 minutes earlier (being deliberately pessimistic here) the cost of my time before overheads/etc were added up would have covered the cost of a high end 250gb or low end 500gb SSD within a year.įrom an accounting standpoint it didn't matter because my time was billed to whatever customers contract I was working on at the time, but a computer upgrade would need to be paid for out of corporate overhead. IDEs.ĭepending on how thoroughly the bean counters rule the roost color of money issues might make the argument futile.Īt my old job the combination of corporate bloatware and spinning rust in my laptop cost me about 15-30 minutes every Monday morning where after booting for the week my laptop was borderline unusable. With Visual Studio that pays for itself after the first time you click install.ĭepending on how much he gets paid, I bet that they would've made their money back on the cost of a new SSD after an hour's worth of time wasted installing and uninstalling.

#Uninstalling visual studio for mac install

I am aghast that anyone would rather pay you to install and uninstall IDEs instead of buy you a bigger hard drive. Oh good lord thank you (assuming it actually is a one-shot uninstallation). and enabling clean one-shot uninstallation. With some versions of the same "tool" (software suite), you got/get multiple different jvm's, tcl, perl etc

#Uninstalling visual studio for mac software

Just as fun is installing both xilinx and Intel(altera) fpga software and tools and the multiple copies of libraries etc they install. IAR and some other embedded development ide's don't always play nice with the libraries they install or need.Īlmost would be better off having a separate vm for each one. With as cheap as a 512MB or 1TB SSD is, there is no excuse for not being able to install every IDE and a couple of virtual machines. I'm usually a big advocate for not putting bigger hard drives on a laptop than absolutely needed to force people to store on remote storage, but there is a limit. So while not on most people's list of desired features, it's certainly on mine. NET shops no longer require developers to use Windows exclusively, or even regularly.ĮDIT: The reason this makes me so happy is that I often bounce back and forth between various C and C# projects at work, and unfortunately having various IDEs installed at the same time runs out my hard drive, meaning I'm often uninstalling things like Visual Studio or IAR.

#Uninstalling visual studio for mac mac

While I count myself among those who use a Mac for everything but Visual & SQL Management Studios, I can't help but be concerned that I will lose the important sense of perspective granted by having to spend half of my computing hours on the Windows platform, for which I find many, many areas where it remains ahead of the Apple platform (Excel kicks Numbers' ass, yes, I said it and I stand by my words), if. NET shops everywhere, but puzzling treatment of what has been Microsoft's star product for almost 30 years from a strategic perspective given the recent IBM report that it is saving significant costs by moving from Windows to Mac.

#Uninstalling visual studio for mac for mac

NET software that runs flawlessly on the Windows platform, Microsoft just broke the last barrier to abandoning Windows as a development platform, which is great news for Mac fans working. Assuming that this version of "Visual Studio" is actually capable of producing fully compliant.






Uninstalling visual studio for mac